Important message from the Arizona Wellness Center for Women regarding coronavirus (COVID-19).

Telemedicine Appointments  Face Mask Recommendations
Office Visits and Patient Safety
Request an Appointment

Obstetrical Services


Natural Labor

Three Stages of labor

First stage begins with the onset of contractions that cause progressive changes in your cervix and ends when your cervix is fully dilated. This stage is divided into two phases: early and active labor.

During early labor, your cervix gradually effaces (thins out) and dilates (opens). During active labor, your contractions become stronger and closer together.

Second Stage of labor begins once you're fully dilated and ends with the birth of your baby. This is sometimes reffered to as the "pushing" stage.

Third and final stage begins right after the birth of your baby and ends with the separation and subsequent delievery of the placenta.

Every pregnancy is different, and there's wide variation in the length of labor. For first-time moms who are at least 37 weeks along, labor often takes between 10 and 20 hours. For some women, though, it lasts much longer, while for others it's over much sooner. Labor generally progreeses moe quickly for women who have already given birth vaginally.